Black Slate is the roots rock Reggae band that helped put the British Reggae sound on the charts in the 70s and 80s. Formed in London in 1974 by musicians from England, Jamaica, and Anguilla, Black Slate was recognized as a band that was able to blend reggae into their own unique sound. Their first charting hit was “Sticksman,” released in 1976, followed by “Mind Your Motion” (TCD, 1979); “Amigo” (Ensign, 1980) broke into the Top Ten Singles Charts and, to this day, this song remains a rallying call for the Rastafarian way of life.

Following a tour in Europe in 1978, and backing Reggae stars Delroy Wilson and Ken Boothe, Black Slate signed with Ensign Records and released “Boom Boom,” a single, and the Sirens In The City album. More albums followed – Rasta Festival (Alligator, 1981), Ogima (Hit and Run, 1981), Six Plus One (Top Ranking, 1982), Black Slate (Sierra, 1985), and Get Up And Dance (FairWood Music, 1995).

After a sold-out tour of New Zealand, band members made the decision to stop touring in the mid 1980s and, in 2011, decided to begin the process of regrouping and planning Black Slate’s return to recording and performing again. In 2013, Black Slate released a full album, Midnight (TCD), and the single, “World Citizenship,” (Unit 8 Records).

Remaining close friends over the years, original band members Anthony Brightly (keyboards and vocals), Chris Hanson (guitar), and Desmond Mahoney (drums) agreed to reunite and revitalize Black Slate. Adding Colin McNeish on bass guitar, F Junior and Jesse Brade on vocals, and Horace Burke on keyboards, the reunited Black Slate debuted at the prestigious Miami Reggae Festival in November 2013.  

Black Slate’s latest album, World Citizen (Unit 8 Records), was released on April 15, 2014. Veteran Reggae journalist Robert “Higherman” Heilman reviewed the album for Reggae-Vibes and stated that, “From Roots to Lovers Rock, every track is a winner that is expertly mixed and presented.” World Citizen will be supported by the band’s upcoming concerts in Europe, South America, the U.K., and the United States.

Black Slate: a well respected band of talented and creative men who are again ready to bring their special brand of Reggae music to the world.  

“We play music because we love playing music. We are ready for the road again,” Anthony Brightly said recently. “A venue of 100, or a stadium of 10,000, we will be on the road to bring the message to every place people want to hear Reggae music. I see a continuation of our journey…”

·         Black Slate (1979, TCD)

·         Amigo (1980, Ensign, Wise Owl)

·         Sirens In The City (1981, Virgin, Ensign)

·         Rasta Festival (1981, Alligator)

·         Ogima (1981, Hit and Run) (CD)

·         Six Plus One (1982, Top Ranking)

·         Black Slate (1985, Sierra)

·         Get Up and Dance (1995, FairWood Music)

·         Midnight (2013, TCD)

·         World Citizen (2014, Unit 8 Records)


·         "Sticksman" (1976, CNR) - NL #31

·         "Mind Your Motion" (1979, TCD)

·         "Amigo" (1980, Ensign) - UK #9

·         "Boom Boom" (1980, Ensign) - UK #51

·         “World Citizenship” (2013, Unit 8 Records)

Black Slate is…

Anthony “Pure Silk” Brightly – keyboards and vocals

Chris “Music House” Hanson – guitar

Desmond Mahoney - drums

Colin “Steam Fish” McNeish - bass guitar 

FJ – vocals

Jesse Brade - vocals

Horace Burke – keyboards


  Listen to the Music of Black Slate

Links: Black Slate's Web Site

artists | tickets | camping | kids | directions | archives | store | volunteers | vendors | world peace | contact us

Copyright © 1998-2014 Sierra Nevada World Music Festival, LLC / Epiphany Artists. All Rights Reserved.